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21—45.102 (206) Civil penalties—establishment, assessment, and collection. Commercial
applicators who violate provisions of Iowa Code chapter 206 or rules promulgated pursuant to Iowa
Code chapter 206 may be subject to civil penalties. This rule outlines the criteria and procedures for
establishing, assessing, and collecting civil penalties.

45.102(1) Criteria. In evaluating a violation to determine which cases may be appropriate for
administrative assessment of penalties, and in determining the amount of penalty, or for purposes of
assessing civil penalties, the department shall consider all of the following factors:

a. Willfulness or recklessness of the violation.
b. Actual or potential danger of injury to the public health, safety, or damage to the environment

caused by the violation.
c. Actual or potential cost of the injury or damage caused by the violation to the public health or

safety or to the environment.
d. Actual and potential cost incurred by the department in enforcing the provisions of Iowa Code

chapter 206 and rules adopted pursuant to this chapter against the violator.
e. Remedial action taken by the commercial applicator.
f. Previous history of noncompliance by the commercial applicator being assessed the civil

penalty.
45.102(2) Notice and hearing. Civil penalties may be assessed against a commercial applicator

only after notice and an opportunity for a contested case hearing unless the parties agree to an informal
settlement which assesses a civil penalty or other disciplinary action. The department may seek
assessment of a civil penalty by serving a complaint upon the commercial applicator. The complaint
shall include a statement of the time, place and nature of the hearing, a statement of the legal authority
and jurisdiction under which the hearing will be held, a reference to the statute or rules involved, a
statement of the matters asserted, and shall inform the applicator of the availability of review by the
panel. The complaint may be served on the commercial applicator by personal service or by certified
mail, return receipt requested. The contested case shall be governed by the department’s rules on
contested case hearings. The department’s procedures for informal settlement also apply.

45.102(3) Administrative order. Upon finding that a commercial applicator has violated Iowa Code
chapter 206 or rules adopted pursuant to this chapter, an administrative order shall be issued assessing
the civil penalty. The order shall recite the facts, the legal requirements which have been violated, the
rationale for the assessment of the civil penalty and the date of issuance.

45.102(4) Amount of penalty. The civil penalty imposed on a commercial applicator shall not
exceed $500 per violation of Iowa Code chapter 206 or to the rules promulgated pursuant to Iowa Code
chapter 206. Each day a commercial applicator is in violation following receipt of written notification
of such violation from the department may be considered a separate violation.

45.102(5) Payment. The penalty shall be paid within 30 days of the date the order assessing the
civil penalty becomes final. Failure to pay the civil penalty within three months of the date the order
becomes final shall be grounds for suspension or revocation of the commercial applicator’s license. The
department may request that the attorney general institute judicial proceedings to recover an unpaid civil
penalty.

45.102(6) Informal settlement. These rules do not apply to any settlement reached between the
commercial applicator and the department prior to the initiation of a contested case proceeding. The
department shall notify the applicator that it has found a probable violation with a proposed penalty and
provide the applicator an opportunity to attend an informal settlement conference. The department and
the applicatormay attend an informal settlement conference and reach an agreement about the assessment
of a civil penalty or other disciplinary action against the applicator. This agreement is not reviewable by
the panel.


