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875—34.5 (91A) Notice of penalty assessment; contested case proceedings.
34.5(1) To initiate an Iowa Code chapter 17A contested case proceeding, the commissioner shall

serve a notice of penalty assessment in a manner consistent with service of original notice under the Iowa
Rules of Civil Procedure. Such notice shall include the following:

a. A statement that the notice concerns a civil penalty assessment for violation of wage laws.
b. A statement that, if a hearing is requested by the employer, the commissioner shall determine,

after the hearing is held pursuant to Iowa Code section 91A.12, subsections 2 and 3, whether the penalty
assessment shall be upheld.

c. References to this chapter, Iowa Code section 91A.12, and any sections of Iowa Code chapter
91A that are alleged to have been violated.

d. The type of violation(s).
e. The number of violations.
f. The amount of the penalty.
g. A demand that the employer comply with the notice and record-keeping requirements of Iowa

Code section 91A.6(1).
h. A statement that the employer has the right to request a hearing within 30 days.
34.5(2) Employer nonresponse. If the employer does not respond to the notice of penalty

assessment within 30 days of being served, the commissioner shall assess the full proposed penalty,
and such assessment shall be final.

34.5(3) Employer request for hearing. The employer may request a hearing within 30 days of being
served by mailing such request to the Division of Labor Services, 1000 East Grand Avenue, Des Moines,
Iowa 50319. Such request shall include the address to which notice of hearing should be mailed. Upon
such request, notice of the time and place of hearing shall be mailed to the employer and a hearing
pursuant to Iowa Code chapter 17A shall be conducted before an administrative law judge.

34.5(4) Failure to request judicial review. If, after hearing, the employer does not request judicial
review of an adverse decision within 30 days, the ruling is final.


