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321—26.3(17A,231B,231C,231D) Enforcement action. DIA may take the following actions as a result
of noncompliance with lowa Code Supplement chapters 231B, 231C and 231D and rules promulgated
by the Iowa department of elder affairs.

26.3(1) In lieu of denial, suspension or revocation, DIA may issue a conditional certification for
a period of up to one year. In the issuance of a conditional certification, DIA shall specify the issues
of noncompliance and the period of time required to comply with each issue. At any time up to 10
working days following the required compliance period, the program shall provide written notification
to DIA of the program’s compliance with requirements. Following receipt of the program notification,
DIA shall make a final certification decision and may conduct an on-site monitoring evaluation to verify
compliance prior to making the final decision. Failure by the program to submit timely notification
of compliance to DIA shall result in suspension or revocation of the conditional certification and may
result in further enforcement action as available under lowa Code Supplement chapter 231B, 231C or
231D and 321—Chapter 24, 25 or 29, whichever is applicable. DIA shall notify the program of a final
certification decision within 15 working days following receipt of the program notification or on-site
monitoring evaluation, whichever is later, or following the program’s failure to timely notify DIA of
compliance.

26.3(2) Civil penalty for adult day services and assisted living programs. If a program continues to
fail or refuses to comply, DIA may assess a civil penalty, which shall be paid to DIA within ten working
days following assessment, as follows:

a. A program in noncompliance with Iowa Code Supplement chapter 231C or 231D and
321—Chapter 24 or 321—Chapter 25, whichever is applicable, that results in imminent danger or a
substantial probability of resultant death or physical harm to a participant or tenant, up to but not to
exceed $10,000.

b.  Following receipt of notice from DIA, a program which fails or refuses to comply with
Iowa Code Supplement chapter 231C or 231D and 321—Chapter 24 or 321—Chapter 25, whichever
is applicable, within prescribed time frames set out by DIA when such noncompliance has a direct

relationship to the health, safety, or security of program participants or tenants, up to but not to exceed
$5,000.



