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CHAPTER 46
RULES OF THE BOARD OF EXAMINERS OF

SHORTHAND REPORTERS

Rule 46.1 Authorization and scope. The rules in this chapter are adopted in conjunction with
Iowa Code sections 602.3101 through 602.3302. They apply to all proceedings, functions, and
responsibilities of shorthand reporters and the board of examiners.
[Court Order June 5, 2008, effective July 1, 2008]

Rule 46.2 Definitions. In this chapter:
(1) “Certified shorthand reporter” is an individual who has demonstrated by examination

administered by the board of examiners that such individual has achieved proficiency in shorthand
equivalent in the discretion of the board to the standard of the National Court Reporters Association
for the earned designation of Registered Professional Reporter, namely, the demonstrated ability
to write dictated tests at 180 words per minute (question and answer — technical dictation), 200
words per minute (multivoice dictation for transcription or readback), and 225 words per minute
(question and answer dictation), or such equivalents thereof as the board may select, each at 95
percent accuracy or better, and demonstrated written knowledge of the reporter’s duties, Iowa legal
procedure, and correct English usage at 70 percent accuracy or better. Individuals who hold the
designation of Registered Professional Reporter from the National Court Reporters Association
by passing said association’s examination on or after May 1, 1973, and are in good standing with
such association, may, upon application to the board of examiners, become certified shorthand
reporters upon successfully passing a written examination concerning a reporter’s duties, Iowa legal
procedure, and correct English usage at 70 percent accuracy or better.

(2) “Shorthand” is a method of writing rapidly with stenographic machine by substituting
characters, abbreviations, or symbols for letters, words, or phrases.

(3) “Shorthand reporting” is the professional skill whose practice by official shorthand reporters
and freelance shorthand reporters serves the judicial branch of state government in courts of record,
references by such courts or the law, depositions taken by shorthand reporters, or proceedings of like
character, with the end in view of ensuring the accuracy and integrity of the record upon which courts
rely for evidence, trial, and appellate review.
[Court Order June 5, 2008, effective July 1, 2008; December 18, 2014; October 15, 2015]

Rule 46.3 Organization, meetings, and information.
46.3(1) The officers of the board shall be a chairperson, selected by the supreme court of Iowa, and

a secretary elected at the September meeting, each to serve for a term of one year, or until a successor
is elected. Each shall perform the duties incumbent upon the office.
46.3(2) The board shall hold regular meetings for examination of applicants and the transaction

of other business on the second Saturday of March and September of each year in Des Moines, Iowa,
commencing at 9 a.m., or at such other times or places as the board may hereafter designate. Special
meetings may be held upon the call of any two members of the board. A majority of three or more
members of the board shall constitute a quorum. Business shall not be conducted unless a quorum is
present. All actions of the board shall require a simple majority vote of those present.
46.3(3) The board shall, at least 60 days prior to the start of each fiscal year, submit to the court

for consideration and approval a budget, covering the board’s operations for the upcoming fiscal year.
Approval of the budget by the court shall authorize payment as provided in the budget. A separate
bank account designated as the certified shorthand reporter operating account shall be maintained for
payment of authorized expenditures as provided in the approved budget. Fees or other funds received
or collected as directed in this chapter or in accordance with an approved interagency agreement
shall be deposited in the certified reporter operating account for payment of the board’s authorized
expenditures.
46.3(4) The director of the office of professional regulation shall serve as the administrator for the

board. Information may be obtained from the director at the Office of Professional Regulation, Iowa
Judicial Branch Building, 1111 East Court Avenue, Des Moines, Iowa 50319, by mail or in person
during office hours.
[Court Order June 5, 2008, effective July 1, 2008]
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Rule 46.4 Applications. Candidates for examination shall make written application on the form
approved by the board and provided by the board’s office. An application must be on file with the
administrator at the board’s office at least 30 days before the date of the examination, unless the board
for good cause shown grants an applicant additional time to file or otherwise waives the 30-day filing
deadline. Good cause for this purpose shall include illness, military service, unavoidable casualty or
misfortune or other grounds beyond the control of the applicant. A new application is required for
each examination. An applicant to become a certified shorthand reporter shall not be examined until
said applicant has satisfied the board that the applicant’s educational and special training includes at
least one of the following:
46.4(1) The applicant has attained proficiency of 200 words per minute or more in a shorthand

reporting course.
46.4(2) The applicant has had at least two years of experience as a shorthand reporter in making

verbatim records of judicial or related proceedings.
46.4(3) The applicant has graduated from a shorthand reporting school approved by the National

Court Reporters Association.
[Court Order June 5, 2008, effective July 1, 2008]

Rule 46.5 Examination.
46.5(1) Applicants shall be required towrite shorthand from dictation of regular court proceedings,

or such other matter as may be selected by the board of examiners, for such periods as shall be required
at varying speeds within the standard.
46.5(2) Applicants will be examined with respect to their knowledge of the statutory duties of

a court reporter, general Iowa court procedure, and correct English usage at a 70 percent or better
accuracy rate.
46.5(3) Applicants shall be required to transcribe such part of the dictation as the board of

examiners may indicate.
46.5(4) Applicants shall be required to read aloud such part of the dictated matter as the board of

examiners may indicate.
46.5(5) Applicants shall be required to furnish their own equipment and supplies for taking

shorthand. Applicants shall make their own transcript on a provided computer or typewriter unless
the applicant is otherwise notified.
46.5(6) Upon completion of the examination, all shorthand notes, transcripts, and other papers

used in connection with an examination shall be returned to the board.
46.5(7) Testing rules and guidelines of the National Court Reporters Association and the Board

of the Academy of Professional Reporters for Registered Professional Reporters shall be used as a
guide to procedure.
[Court Order June 5, 2008, effective July 1, 2008; December 18, 2014; October 15, 2015]

Rule 46.6 Certification. Each person who has achieved the designation of certified shorthand
reporter shall be issued a certificate by the board of examiners. The certificate may be signed by the
chairperson and secretary or by all of the board members.
[Court Order June 5, 2008, effective July 1, 2008]

Rule 46.7 Fees.
46.7(1) The fee for each examination is $200.
46.7(2) The fee for annual renewal is $85.
46.7(3) The fee for late filing of an annual report is $100.
46.7(4) The fee for reinstatement from a suspension is $100.
46.7(5) The fee for reinstatement for one granted a certificate of exemption is $50.
46.7(6) The fee for an extension for obtaining continuing education credit is $50.

[Court Order June 5, 2008, effective July 1, 2008; July 17, 2013, effective September 1, 2013]

Rule 46.8 Continuing education requirement.
46.8(1) Units of continuing education credits as approved by the board of examiners of shorthand

reporters shall be completed by each reporter in active practice in Iowa. Failure to comply with the
continuing education requirements shall be grounds for disciplinary action under rule 46.11. In order
to comply, a reporter shall meet the requirements of rule 46.8(1)(a) or 46.8(1)(b):
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a. Obtain at least three continuing education units (CEUs) within a three-year period by attending
or participating in seminars, workshops, or courses, integrally relating to the field of shorthand
reporting, and which contribute directly to the professional competency of the shorthand reporter.
One hour of continuing education credit shall equal .1 continuing education unit.
Continuing education activities shall be conducted by individuals who have special education,

training, and experience, and the individuals should be considered experts concerning the subject
matter of the program. Attendance at any approved national, regional or state seminar will be
acceptable.
Continuing education units earned in any one reporting period may be carried over for credit in

one or more succeeding reporting periods, constituting the three-year period previously provided,
but can not be carried over to any successive three-year period.
Commencing October 1, 2002, the annual reporting cycle shall run from October 1 through

September 30. Continuing education requirements and the three-year reporting cycle for newly
certified shorthand reporters will commence October 1 of the year following the year of their
certification.
b. In lieu of the requirements set forth in rule 46.8(1)(a), the boardwill accept satisfactory evidence

of compliance with the current continuing education requirements of the National Court Reporters
Association for retention on its Registry of Professional Reporters.
46.8(2) The board may, in individual cases involving disability, hardship, or extenuating

circumstances, grant waivers of the minimum education requirements or extensions of time within
which to fulfill the same or make the required reports. No waiver or extension of time shall be
granted unless written application is made and signed by the reporter. The board may, as a condition
of any waiver granted, require the applicant to make up a certain portion or all of the minimum
educational requirements waived by such methods as may be prescribed by the board.
46.8(3) Reporters who are not actively engaged in practice may obtain from the board a certificate

of exemption from continuing education requirements. Application for such exemption shall contain
a statement that the applicant will not engage in the practice of shorthand reporting in Iowa without
first complying with the regulations governing reinstatement after exemption.
46.8(4) Inactive practitioners who have been granted a certificate of exemption from these

regulations shall, prior to engaging in the practice of shorthand reporting in Iowa, satisfy the
following requirements for reinstatement:
a. Submit written application for reinstatement to the board upon forms prescribed by the board

together with a reinstatement fee of $50, and
b. Furnish in the application evidence of one of the following:
(1) Active shorthand reporting in another state of the United States or the District of Columbia

and completion of continuing education requirements that are the substantial equivalent to the
requirements set forth in these rules for court reporters in Iowa as determined by the board.
(2) Completion of continuing education units (CEUs) sufficient to satisfy education requirements

for the period of inactivity if seeking reinstatement within three years of being granted a certificate
of exemption.
(3) Successful passing of either the state of Iowa’s certificate examination or the National Court

Reporters Association’s examination within one year immediately prior to the submission of such
application for reinstatement.
[Court Order June 5, 2008, effective July 1, 2008]

Rule 46.9 Approval of activity. A reporter seeking credit for attendance and participation in an
educational activity other than those sponsored or approved by the National or Iowa Court Reporters
Associations shall submit to the board, within 30 days after completion of such activity, a request for
credit, including a brief résumé of the activity, its dates, subjects, instructors and their qualifications,
and the number of credit hours requested therefor. Within 60 days after receipt of such application,
the board shall advise the reporter in writing by ordinary mail whether the activity is approved and
the number of hours allowed therefor. A reporter not complying with the requirements of this rule
may be denied credit for such activity.
[Court Order June 5, 2008, effective July 1, 2008]

Rule 46.10 Continuing education reports.
46.10(1) On or before December 1 of each year, each reporter shall file with the board, on forms

provided by the board, a signed report concerning completion of continuing education for the prior
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reporting period. Said report, along with the annual renewal fee, shall be sent to the board’s office,
Office of Professional Regulation, Iowa Judicial Branch Building, 1111 East Court Avenue, Des
Moines, Iowa 50319. The board may prescribe an electronic report form and require submission
of the report in that form.
46.10(2) All active reporters who fail to file the annual report on or before December 1 of each

year shall pay a penalty of $100.
[Court Order June 5, 2008, effective July 1, 2008]

Rule 46.11 Penalty for failure to satisfy continuing education requirements. The board may
revoke or suspend the license of any reporter who fails to comply with rule 46.10 or who files a
report showing a failure to complete the required number of education credits; provided that at least
30 days prior to the suspension or revocation, notice of the delinquency has been served upon the
reporter in the manner provided for the service of original notices in Iowa R. Civ. P. 1.305 or has
been forwarded to the reporter by restricted certified mail, return receipt requested, addressed to the
reporter’s last-known address. The reporter shall be given the opportunity during the 30 days to file
in the board’s office an affidavit establishing that the noncompliance was not willful and tender the
documents and sums and penalties which, if accepted, would cure the delinquency. Alternatively,
the reporter may file in the board’s office a request, in duplicate, for hearing to show cause why
the reporter’s certificate should not be suspended or revoked. The board shall grant a hearing if
requested. If the board orders a suspension or revocation it shall notify the reporter by either of the
methods provided above. The suspension or revocation shall continue until the board has approved
the reporter’s written application for reinstatement.
[Court Order June 5, 2008, effective July 1, 2008]

Rule 46.12 Disciplinary action. The board may, upon its own initiative, or at the request of the
supreme court of Iowa, or complaint by a third party, begin disciplinary procedures for violations of
the board rules or the Code of Iowa against any reporter.
46.12(1) Charges against a reporter brought by a third party must be in writing, signed by the

complainant, filed with the board, and contain substantiating evidence to support the complainant’s
allegations. The complaint shall include complainant’s address and telephone number, be dated,
identify the reporter, and give the address and any other information about the reporter which the
complainant may have concerning the matter.
46.12(2) Such complaint, which will be held in confidence as required by law, shall be reviewed

by the board. If the board concurs in the seriousness of the allegations made by the complainant,
the board shall, in writing, advise the reporter of the charges involved. The reporter shall have
30 days from the receipt of the board’s notice to answer the charges in writing. The reporter may
request a personal appearance before the board. The board shall then review again the charges made
and determine whether the complaint can be disposed of informally or if contested case proceedings
should be commenced.
[Court Order June 5, 2008, effective July 1, 2008]

Rule 46.13 Causes for disciplinary action. The board may revoke or suspend a certificate, or
impose any of the disciplinary sanctions included in this chapter for any of the following reasons:
46.13(1) All grounds listed in Iowa Code section 602.3203.
46.13(2) Failure to file an annual report showing satisfaction of the current requirement of

continuing education or submission of a false report of continuing education.
46.13(3) Conviction of a misdemeanor related to the profession or occupation of the reporter.
46.13(4) Unless otherwise required by law, a violation of Iowa R. Civ. P. 1.713(1) or 1.713(2) in

any state, federal, administrative, or other proceeding.
46.13(5) The board’s receipt of a certificate of noncompliance from the Child Support Recovery

Unit, pursuant to the procedures set forth in Iowa Code chapter 252J.
46.13(6) The board’s receipt of a certificate of noncompliance from the College Student Aid

Commission, pursuant to the procedures set forth in Iowa Code chapter 261.
46.13(7) The board’s receipt of a certificate of noncompliance from the Centralized Collection

Unit of the Department of Revenue, pursuant to the procedures set forth in Iowa Code chapter 272D.
[Court Order June 5, 2008, effective July 1, 2008; December 12, 2011]
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Rule 46.14 Contested case proceedings.
46.14(1) Contested case proceedings which involve possible disciplinary sanctions shall be set for

hearing on not less than ten days’ notice to all parties. Notice of hearing shall be in writing and shall
be served either by personal service or certified mail, return receipt requested.
46.14(2) The notice shall include all of the following information:
a. A statement of the time, place, and nature of the hearing.
b. A statement of the legal authority and jurisdiction under which the hearing is to be held.
c. A reference to the particular sections of the statutes and rules involved.
d. A concise statement of the matters asserted, or if the board is unable to state the matters in detail

at the time the notice is served, the initial notice may be limited to a statement of the issues involved.
46.14(3) If a party fails to appear in a contested case proceeding after proper service of notice, the

presiding officer may, if no adjustment is granted, proceed with the hearing and make a decision in
the absence of the party.
46.14(4) Opportunity should be afforded all parties to respond and present evidence and argument

on all issues involved and to be represented by counsel at their own expense.
46.14(5) Unless precluded by statute, informal disposition may be made of any contested case by

stipulation, agreed settlement, consent order, default, or by another method agreed upon by the parties
in writing.
46.14(6) After the conclusion of a hearing, the board shall take any of the actions set forth in rule

46.15. The board’s actions shall be set forth in writing, and a copy of the conclusions and decisions
shall be served upon all parties and the supreme court of Iowa. The board may permit a reasonable
time for the parties to file posthearing briefs and arguments. The report of the board shall be made
within 60 days after the date set for the filing of the last responsive brief and argument. If the board
cannot reasonably make its determination or file its report within such time limit, it shall report that
fact and the reasons therefor to the parties and to the clerk of the supreme court. Any determination
or report of the board need only be concurred in by a majority of the board members sitting, and any
member has the right to file a dissent from the majority determination or report.
46.14(7) Procedures for the handling of all contested case proceedings shall, to the extent not

specifically set forth in this chapter, be governed by the Iowa Administrative Procedure Act.
[Court Order June 5, 2008, effective July 1, 2008]

Rule 46.15 Disciplinary sanctions. The board may, based upon the evidence presented, take one or
more of the following actions:
46.15(1) Dismiss the charges.
46.15(2) Informally stipulate and settle any matter relating to the reporter’s discipline.
46.15(3) Require additional professional education.
46.15(4) Issue a citation and warning regarding the reporter’s behavior.
46.15(5) Reprimand.
46.15(6) Impose a period of probation.
46.15(7) Suspend the certificate.
46.15(8) Revoke the certificate.

[Court Order June 5, 2008, effective July 1, 2008]

Rule 46.16 Military service and veteran reciprocity.
46.16(1) Definitions. In this rule:
a. “Military service”means honorably serving: in federal active duty, state active duty, or national

guard duty, as defined in Iowa Code section 29A.1; in the military services of other states, as provided
in 10 U.S.C. section 101(c); or in the organized reserves of the United States, as provided in 10 U.S.C.
section 10101.
b. “Military service applicant” is an individual requesting credit toward certification for military

education, training, or service obtained or completed in military service.
c. “Veteran” is an individual who meets the definition of “veteran” in Iowa Code section 35.1(2).
46.16(2) Military education, training, and service credit. A military service applicant may apply

for credit for verified military education, training, or service toward any experience or educational
requirement for certification by submitting a military service application to the board office.
a. The application may be submitted with an application for certification or examination or prior to

an applicant’s applying for certification or to take an examination. No fee is required for submission
of an application for military service credit.
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b. The applicant must identify the experience or educational certification requirement to which
the credit would be applied if granted. Credit may not be applied to an examination requirement.
c. The applicant must provide documents, military transcripts, a certified affidavit, or forms that

verify completion of the relevant military education, training, or service, which may include, when
applicable, the applicant’s Certificate of Release or Discharge from Active Duty (DD Form 214) or
Verification of Military Experience and Training (VMET) (DD Form 2586).
d. Upon receipt of a completed military service application, the board will promptly determine

whether the verified military education, training, or service satisfies all or any part of the identified
experience or educational qualifications for certification.
e. The board will grant the application in whole or in part if the board determines that the

verified military education, training, or service satisfies all or part of the experience or educational
qualifications for certification.
f. The board will inform the military service applicant in writing of the credit, if any, given toward

an experience or educational qualification for certification, or explain why no credit was granted. The
applicant may request reconsideration upon submission of additional documentation or information.
g. A military service applicant aggrieved by the board’s decision may request a contested case

(administrative hearing) and may participate in a contested case by telephone. A request for a
contested case must be made within 30 days of issuance of the board’s decision. No fees or costs
may be assessed against the military service applicant in connection with a contested case conducted
pursuant to this rule 46.16(2).
h. The board will grant or deny the military service application prior to ruling on the application

for certification. The applicant is not required to submit any fees in connection with the certification
application unless the board grants the military service application. If the board does not grant the
military service application, the applicant may withdraw the certification application or request that
the application be placed in pending status for up to one year or as mutually agreed. Withdrawal
of a certification application does not preclude subsequent applications supported by additional
documentation or information.
46.16(3) Veteran reciprocity.
a. A veteran with an unrestricted professional certificate as a shorthand reporter in another

jurisdiction may apply for certification in Iowa through reciprocity. A veteran must pass any
examinations required for certification to be eligible for certification through reciprocity and will be
given credit for examinations previously passed when consistent with board rules on examination
requirements. A veteran’s fully completed application for certification submitted under rule 46.16(3)
will be expedited and given priority.
b. A veteran’s application for certification must contain all of the information required of all

applicants for certification who hold unrestricted certificates in other jurisdictions and who are
applying for certification by reciprocity, including, but not limited to, completion of all required
forms, payment of applicable fees, disclosure of criminal or disciplinary history, and, if applicable, a
criminal history background check. The applicant must use the same forms as any other applicant
for certification by reciprocity and must additionally provide such documentation as is reasonably
needed to verify the applicant’s status as a veteran under Iowa Code section 35.1(2).
c. Upon receipt of a fully completed certification application, the board will promptly determine

if the professional or occupational licensing requirements of the jurisdiction where the veteran is
certified are substantially equivalent to the certification requirements in Iowa. The board will make
this determination based on information the applicant supplies and such additional information
as the board may acquire from the applicable jurisdiction. The board may consider the following
factors in determining substantial equivalence: scope of practice, education and coursework, degree
requirements, postgraduate experience, and examination required for certification.
d. The board will promptly grant a certificate to the veteran if the applicant is certified in the

same or similar profession in another jurisdiction whose certification requirements are substantially
equivalent to those required in Iowa and the applicant has passed thewritten examination administered
by the board pursuant to rule 46.5(2), unless the applicant is ineligible for certification based on other
grounds, such as the applicant’s disciplinary or criminal background.
e. If the board determines that the certification requirements in the jurisdiction in which the veteran

is certified are not substantially equivalent to those required in Iowa, the board will promptly inform
the veteran of the additional experience, education, or examinations required for certification in Iowa.
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Unless the applicant is ineligible for certification based on other grounds, such as disciplinary or
criminal background, the following apply:
(1) If a veteran has not passed the required examinations for certification, the applicant may not be

issued a provisional certificate but may request that the certification application be placed in pending
status for up to one year or as mutually agreed to provide the veteran with the opportunity to satisfy
the examination requirements.
(2) If additional experience or education is required for the applicant’s qualifications to be

considered substantially equivalent, the applicant may request that the board issue a provisional
certificate for a specified period of time during which the applicant will successfully complete the
necessary experience or education. The board may issue a provisional certificate for a specified
period of time upon such conditions as the board deems reasonably necessary to protect the health,
welfare, or safety of the public, unless the board determines that the deficiency is of a character that
the public health, welfare, or safety will be adversely affected if a provisional certificate is granted.
(3) If a request for a provisional certificate is denied, the board will issue an order fully explaining

the decision and inform the applicant of the steps the applicant may take to receive a provisional
certificate.
(4) If a provisional certificate is issued, the application for full certification will be placed in

pending status until the applicant successfully completes the necessary experience or education or the
provisional certificate expires, whichever occurs first. The board may extend a provisional certificate
on a case-by-case basis for good cause.
f. A veteran who is aggrieved by the board’s decision to deny an application for a reciprocal

certificate or a provisional certificate, or who is aggrieved by the terms under which a provisional
certificate will be granted, may request a contested case (administrative hearing) and may participate
in a contested case by telephone. A request for a contested case must be made within 30 days of
issuance of the board’s decision. No fees or costs will be assessed against the veteran in connection
with a contested case conducted pursuant to this rule 46.16(3).
46.16(4) Substantially equivalent certification requirements. The certification requirements of

another jurisdiction are substantially equivalent to those of Iowa, if in that jurisdiction an individual
must demonstrate, by examination administered by the licensing authority of the jurisdiction,
proficiency in shorthand equivalent to the standard of the National Court Reporters Association for
the earned designation of Registered Professional Reporter.
[Court Order December 18, 2014; October 15, 2015]

Rule 46.17 Certification by reciprocity.
46.17(1) An applicant with an unrestricted professional certificate as a stenographic shorthand

reporter in another jurisdiction may apply for certification in Iowa through reciprocity. The applicant
will be given credit for examinations previously passed when consistent with board rules on
examination requirements.
46.17(2) An applicant’s application for certificationmust contain completion of all required forms,

payment of applicable fees, disclosure of criminal or disciplinary history, and, if applicable, a criminal
history background check.
46.17(3) Upon receipt of a fully completed certification application, the board will promptly

determine if the professional or occupational licensing requirements of the jurisdiction where the
applicant is certified are substantially equivalent to the certification requirements in Iowa. The
board will make this determination based on information the applicant supplies and such additional
information as the board may acquire from the applicable jurisdiction. The board may consider the
following factors in determining substantial equivalence: method of practice, scope of practice,
education and coursework, degree requirements, postgraduate experience, and examination required
for certification.
46.17(4) The board will promptly grant a certificate to the applicant if the applicant is certified

in the same or similar profession in another jurisdiction whose certification requirements are
substantially equivalent to those required in Iowa and the applicant has passed the written
examination administered by the board pursuant to rule 46.5(2), unless the applicant is ineligible for
certification based on other grounds, such as the applicant’s disciplinary or criminal background.
46.17(5) If the board determines that the certification requirements in the jurisdiction in which

the applicant is certified are not substantially equivalent to those required in Iowa, the board will
promptly inform the applicant of the additional experience, education, or examinations required for
certification in Iowa.
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46.17(6) An applicant who is aggrieved by the board’s decision to deny an application for a
reciprocal certificate may request a contested case (administrative hearing) and may participate in a
contested case by telephone. A request for a contested case must be made within 30 days of issuance
of the board’s decision.
46.17(7) The certification requirements of another jurisdiction are substantially equivalent to those

of Iowa, if in that jurisdiction an individual must demonstrate by examination administered by the
licensing authority of the jurisdiction, proficiency in stenographic shorthand equivalent to the standard
of the National Court Reporters Association for the earned designation of Registered Professional
Reporter.
[Court Order October 15, 2015]


