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CHAPTER 42
REGULATIONS OF THE COMMISSION ON CONTINUING

LEGAL EDUCATION

Rule 42.1 Definitions. For the purpose of these regulations, the following definitions shall apply:
An “accredited program or activity” shall mean a continuing legal education activity meeting the

standards set forth in rule 42.3 which has received advanced accreditation by the commission pursuant
to rule 42.4.
An “attorney” shall mean any person licensed to practice law in the state of Iowa.
The “commission” shall mean the Commission on Continuing Legal Education or any division

thereof.
An “hour” of continuing legal education shall mean a clock-hour spent by an attorney in actual

attendance at or completion of an accredited legal education activity.
“Legal ethics” shall mean a separate, designated, and dedicated session of instruction:
1. Referring to and based on the disciplinary rules or ethical considerations of the ethics or

professional responsibility code for lawyers in the jurisdiction where the instruction is presented; or
2. Designed to help attorneys detect, prevent, or respond to substance abuse or mental illness that

impairs professional competence. The instruction must focus on issues in the legal profession and in
the practice of law, and not issues of substance abuse or mental health in general.
A “quorum” of the entire commission shall mean six or more members of the commission.

[Court Order November 25, 1975; November 9, 2001, effective February 15, 2002; February 22, 2002;
February 20, 2012]

Rule 42.2 Continuing legal education requirement.
42.2(1) Aminimum of 15 hours of continuing legal education must be completed by each attorney

for each calendar year in the manner stated in Iowa Ct. R. 41.3(1). Effective January 15, 1988,
each attorney shall, every two years, complete a minimum of two hours of legal education devoted
specifically to the area of legal ethics.
42.2(2) Hours of continuing legal education credit may be obtained by attending or participating

in a continuing legal education activity, either previously accredited by the commission or which
otherwise meets the requirements herein and is retroactively accredited by the commission pursuant
to rule 42.4(3).
42.2(3) An attorney desiring to obtain credit for one or more succeeding calendar years, not

exceeding two such years, for completing more than 15 hours of accredited legal education during
any one calendar year, under Iowa Ct. R. 41.3(1), shall report such “carry-over” credit at the time of
filing the annual report to the commission on or before March 1 of the year following the calendar
year during which the claimed additional legal education hours were completed.
[Court Order November 25, 1975; December 6, 1978; January 8, 1988; November 9, 2001, effective February
15, 2002]

Rule 42.3 Standards for accreditation.
42.3(1) A continuing legal education activity qualifies for accreditation if the commission

determines that the activity complies with all of the following:
a. It constitutes an organized program of learning (including a workshop or symposium) which

contributes directly to the professional competency of an attorney.
b. It pertains to common legal subjects or other subject matters which integrally relate to the

practice of law.
c. It is conducted by attorneys or individuals who have a special education, training, and

experience by reason of which said individuals should be considered experts concerning the subject
matter of the program, and preferably is accompanied by a paper, manual, or written outline which
substantively pertains to the subject matter of the program.
d. It is presented live or by computer-based transmission. Activities presented by computer-based

transmission must be interactive as defined by the accreditation policies of the commission.
42.3(2) No activity will be accredited which involves solely self-study, including television

viewing, video or sound recorded programs, or correspondence work, except as may be allowed
pursuant to rule 42.5.
[Court Order November 25, 1975; November 9, 2001, effective February 15, 2002; February 22, 2002]
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Rule 42.4 Accreditation of programs and activities.
42.4(1) Prior accreditation of activities. An organization or person that desires prior accreditation

of a course, program or other legal education activity satisfying Iowa Ct. R. 41.2, or an attorney who
desires to establish accreditation of such activity prior to attendance, shall apply for accreditation to
the commission at least 60 days in advance of the commencement of the activity on a form provided
by the commission. The commission shall approve or deny such application in writing within 30 days
of receipt of such application. The application shall state the dates, subjects offered, total hours of
instruction, names and qualifications of speakers, and other pertinent information.
42.4(2) Post-accreditation of activities. An attorney or organization on behalf of an attorney

seeking credit for attendance at or participation in an educational activity which has not received
prior accreditation shall submit to the commission, within 30 days after completion of such activity,
a request for credit, including a brief résumé of the activity, its dates, subjects, instructors and their
qualifications, and the number of credit hours requested therefor. Within 30 days after receipt of
such application, the commission shall advise the attorney or organization in writing by ordinary
mail whether the activity is accredited and the number of hours allowed therefor. An attorney or
organization not complying with the requirements of this rule may be denied credit for such activity.
42.4(3) Fee for organization applications for accreditation. To support administration of this

chapter, any organization or other activity sponsor applying for accreditation of an activity shall pay
to the commission a prescribed nonrefundable application fee for each activity. No application fee
shall be required of an attorney who applies for accreditation solely as an attendee. The commission
may waive the application fee for any of the following reasons:
a. For any activity offered at no charge to attendees for the educational portion of the activity.
b. For any presentation of the identical program at additional places or dates during a calendar

year, provided the original presentation of the program was approved.
[Court Order November 25, 1975; November 9, 2001, effective February 15, 2002; February 22, 2002;
November 23, 2004, effective July 1, 2005]

Rule 42.5 Hardships or extenuating circumstances.
42.5(1) The commission may, in individual cases involving hardship or extenuating

circumstances, grant waivers of the minimum educational requirements or extensions of time within
which to fulfill the same or make the required reports. No waiver or extension of time shall be
granted unless written application therefor shall be made on forms prescribed by the commission. A
$25 fee will be assessed on all waiver or extension of time applications received after January 15 of
the year following the year in which the alleged hardship occurred.
42.5(2) Waivers of the minimum educational requirements may be granted by the commission for

any period of time not to exceed one year. In the event that the hardship or extenuating circumstances
upon which a waiver has been granted continue beyond the period of the waiver, the attorney must
reapply for an extension of the waiver. The commission may, as a condition of any waiver granted,
require the applicant to make up a certain portion or all of the minimum educational requirements
waived by such methods as may be prescribed by the commission.
42.5(3) Extensions of time within which to fulfill the minimum educational requirements may,

in individual cases involving hardship or extenuating circumstances, be granted by the commission
for a period not to exceed six months immediately following expiration of the year in which the
requirements were not met. Hours of minimum educational requirement completed within such an
extension period shall be applied first to the minimum educational requirement for the preceding year
and shall be applied to the current or following year only to the extent that such hours are not required
to fulfill the minimum educational requirement for the preceding year.
[Court Order November 25, 1975; August 12, 1980; November 9, 2001, effective February 15, 2002]

Rule 42.6 Exemptions for inactive practitioners. A member of the bar who is not engaged in the
practice of law in the state of Iowa as defined in Iowa Ct. R. 39.7 residing within or without the state
of Iowa may be granted a waiver of compliance and obtain a certificate of exemption upon written
application to the commission. The application shall contain a statement that the applicant will not
engage in the practice of law in Iowa, as defined in Iowa Ct. R. 39.7, without first complying with all
regulations governing reinstatement after exemption. The application for a certificate of exemption
shall be submitted upon the form prescribed by the commission.
[Court Order November 25, 1975; November 9, 2001, effective February 15, 2002]
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Rule 42.7 Reinstatement of inactive practitioners.
42.7(1) Inactive practitioners who have been granted a waiver of compliance with these

regulations and obtained a certificate of exemption shall, prior to engaging in the practice of law in
the state of Iowa as defined in Iowa Ct. R. 39.7, satisfy the following requirements for reinstatement:
a. Submit written application for reinstatement to the commission upon forms prescribed by the

commission together with a reinstatement fee of $25 and all late filing penalties due at the time the
exemption was granted.
b. Furnish in the application evidence of one of the following:
(1) Having engaged in the full-time practice of law, as defined in Iowa Ct. R. 39.7, in another state

of the United States or the District of Columbia and completion of continuing legal education for each
year of inactive status substantially equivalent in the opinion of the commission to that required under
chapter 41 of the Iowa Court Rules.
(2) Successful completion of an Iowa state bar examination conducted within one year

immediately prior to the submission of such application for reinstatement.
(3) Completion of a total number of hours of accredited continuing legal education computed by

multiplying 15 by the number of years a certificate of exemption shall have been in effect for such
applicant. The continuing legal education required for reinstatement shall include hours devoted
specifically to the area of legal ethics, computed as follows: two hours for every two calendar
years following January 15, 1988, in which a certificate of exemption shall have been in effect.
Alternatively, the legal ethics requirement may be satisfied by obtaining a scaled score of 80 or
higher on the Multistate Professional Responsibility Examination within one year immediately prior
to the submission of the application for reinstatement.
42.7(2) Notwithstanding that an applicant for reinstatement has not fully complied with the

requirements for reinstatement set forth in rule 42.7(1)(b), the commission may conditionally
reinstate such applicant on such terms and conditions as it may prescribe regarding the period of time
in which the applicant shall furnish evidence of compliance with the requirements of rule 42.7(1)(b).
[Court Order November 25, 1975; July 28, 1977; January 8, 1988; December 15, 1994, effective January 3,
1995; April 10, 1997; November 9, 2001, effective February 15, 2002; August 10, 2009]

Rule 42.8 Staff. The assistant director for boards and commissions of the office of professional
regulation shall serve as the principal executive officer of the commission. The commission may,
subject to the approval of the court, employ such other employees as the commission deems necessary
to carry out its duties under chapter 41 of the Iowa Court Rules, who shall perform such duties as the
commission may from time to time direct.
[Court Order November 25, 1975; November 9, 2001, effective February 15, 2002; December 5, 2007]

Rule 42.9 Divisions. The commission may organize itself into divisions of not fewer than three
members for the purpose of considering and deciding matters assigned to them.
[Court Order November 25, 1975; November 9, 2001, effective February 15, 2002]

Rule 42.10 Hearings. In the event of denial, in whole or in part, of any application, the applicant
shall have the right, within 20 days after the sending of the notification of the denial by ordinary
mail, to request in writing a hearing before the commission which shall be held within 90 days after
receipt of the request for hearing. The decision of the commission after such hearing shall be final.
Any hearing on a revocation of the accreditation of an accredited sponsor, the denial of a hardship
application, or a recommendation for disciplinary action under Iowa Ct. R. 41.5(4) shall be before a
quorum of the entire commission.
[Court Order November 25, 1975; November 9, 2001, effective February 15, 2002]

Rule 42.11 Notice of failure to comply. In the event an attorney fails to comply with the provisions
of Iowa Ct. R. 41.4 or files a report showing on its face failure to complete the required number of
accredited hours of continuing legal education, the commission shall notify said attorney in writing
of such apparent noncompliance and said attorney shall have 15 days from the mailing of said notice
to cure said failure to comply or make an appropriate application under rule 42.5. If the failure to
comply is not cured or such application not approved, the commission shall report promptly to the
supreme court the failure of the attorney to comply with chapter 41 of the Iowa Court Rules.
[Court Order November 25, 1975; November 9, 2001, effective February 15, 2002]


